Hatches – BATTENED

1 Sep

There’s a Tropical Storm/Depression/Hurricane/Whatever heading our way tonight – Hermine will be paying us a little visit in the next few hours.

tropicalstorm

Bleh.

Honestly, Central Florida encounters worse than this all the time. We are supposed to just get the mildest of rain bands, and a lot of thunder and whatnot. I am expecting a lot of rain, and possibly my tiny car to be battered about by the wind as I make my 3-mile drive home after work, but not much more than that. At worst, my power goes out, and since I naturally wake up at 5 AM* I’m not too concerned about being late to work tomorrow–although showering without a water heater sucks. And I won’t be able to make my breakfast like I normally do. I hope that’s the worst that happens, anyway.

If you are expecting a visit from the storm, I hope it is as mild as possible! Stay safe!

Have you ever been in a hurricane or other natural disaster? What was it like? 

*In defiance of all that is good and just in the world. It doesn’t matter what time I got to bed, I always wake up at 5, although I can sometimes go back to sleep.  

6 Responses to “Hatches – BATTENED”

  1. lkeke35 September 1, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

    The most we experience up here in my neck of the woods are strong storms. We live right on Lake Erie (I can walk there in a about 15/20 minutes). Further out from Cleveland there are tornadoes. We don’t get hurricanes up here. All we get is reports about them, so all we know is from TV.

    But winter is when we really catch it when the winds blow off the lake and freeze everything. (and I do mean everything!)

    Nevertheless, monitor and stay safe. (Louisiana didn’t think anything about what was happening at first either and look what happened!) Just be ready to vacate if you have to. And let us know how you’re doing when you can. Okay?

    • jennnanigans September 1, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

      We get a lot of thunderstorms for sure, and wildfires in the summer, but not a lot of otherwise dangerous weather. Full disclosure: I’ve never seen real snow. 😀

      Ha ha, yes Ma’am! I will be sure to let you know how I fare!

      We’ve had worse than this before, but as you said, Louisiana thought so too.

      Have a good night!

  2. I live in MA and we may get some remnants of one of the storms this weekend. I’ve lost track of which one now at this point! So, how many climate change deniers are still left?😕 Anyway, stay safe tonight!😐

    • jennnanigans September 2, 2016 at 7:46 am #

      Yes, I remember a few bad storms going up your way! Ha ha, climate deniers have a special sixth sense that lets them filter reality as they see fit.
      Thank you! I did! 😀

  3. patricksponaugle September 1, 2016 at 5:38 pm #

    Hey, I hope it’s very mild! Stay safe and all that.

    • jennnanigans September 2, 2016 at 7:47 am #

      Yup, we just got the outer, OUTER rain bans, so it basically rained all night. Barely any lightning or thunder, one or two tornado warnings. SUPER mild!
      Thanks! 😀

... but what do YOU think?

indiescifi451.wordpress.com/

îndependent science fiction movies, reviewed and dissected ruthlessly.

One Working Mommy

I am one person, one wife, one Mommy working through it all.

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

AfroSapiophile

Intelligent Black Thought.

Writing Is Hard Work

Musings of a hard working writer.

Janet Carr @

This Bug's Life

I create worlds. John E. Brito's Blog

Behind the scenes of John E. Brito's animated and live action (short) films & comics

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

Stuff White People Like

This blog is devoted to stuff that white people like

Dark Matters

For Well-Rounded Blerds and POC Nerds

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

My Year Cooking with Chris Kimball

Recipes from Cook's Illustated, Cook's Country and America's Test Kitchen

The Entertainment Patrol (and general musings)

My musings about everything from entertainment to life!

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Lovecraft eZine

Weird Fiction, Cosmic horror, and the Cthulhu Mythos

breaktimestories

Musings, Short stories, Inspiration.

BROTHA WOLF

Howling For Justice!

MyCreativeRamblings.org

“I used to want to be an astronaut, but astronauts don't even go to the moon anymore.”

BecomeBetty.com

Food, drinks, style, and humor

BaileyBee

The Hive

Carmilita's Handmade Jewelry

handmade bead jewelry

Mark My World

Hacking life while enjoying everything in between

Really Awful Movies

Horror Movies, Science Fiction, Exploitation, Action, Genre Films.

yaskhan

Poetry, free verse, haiku, senryu, photography, books, art, philosophy , nature.

TheWarner

Your Source for Honest Commentary and Reviews

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Opinionated Woman

Opinionated women of the world, unite!

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

What's Your Chic?

Your Chic. Your Style.

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Blog of the Dragon

Game of Thrones/Song of Ice and Fire news, theories, and other nerdy goodness

LOWLIFE MAGAZINE

"Find what you love and let it kill you." – Charles Bukowski

tekehdddddddddddddddddddddddddddd.wordpress.com/

About life, the universe and everything

Londongrad

Erotica City of London Russia Confessions

The Gymternet

The ultimate gymnastics news. For the ultimate gym nerd.

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

CHILANGOGEEK

Hobbies, Comics, Customs & Peliculas

