Oh, For Heaven’s SAKE…

25 Jan

 

Look, I know a lot of people on the East Coast are having Real World Problems right now due to Winter Storm Jonas. That really sucks, and having myself lived through some hurricanes that caused massive wreckage, my heart goes out to them on this Monday morning. I hope you all make it to work if you can, and if you can’t, may your power be unflagging and your internet connection without lag. 

That said, I have to talk about this:

Sorry Everyone, a Labyrinth Reboot is In the Works

I’m not going on a tear about how this is destroying my childhood or whatever. Things change, the center cannot hold, and any thing that generates buzz is considered up for grabs for a remake. I will always have the original. And hey, Guardians of the Galaxy turned out to be a hell of a great surprise, AND they have an actual Henson involved! We shall see.

[EDIT: It has been brought to my attention that the screenwriter took to Twitter to discuss and defend the decision to go ahead with this ‘re-envisioning.’ We will see! ]

Some folks in the comments on that post have suggested gender-swapping Jareth and starring someone like Tilda Swinton (SWINTON) or Annie Lennox. Both ideas intrigue me, even if they aren’t in the spirit of the original story, which is an exploration of female burgeoning sexuality. I would also accept Janelle Monae, or time-traveling Grace Jones.

As for male performers?

I could see Tom Hiddleston pulling it off. By all accounts he can sing, as he proved in the Hank Williams Biopic, and the man can dance like whoa. Orrr…. Uh.

Yeah I got nothing. I poured my coffee into my water glass and my friend’s oatmeal exploded in the microwave, so the day isn’t off to a great start.

We COULD go the opposite direction and imagine WORST CASE scenarios… 

Sorry, that was a low-blow. I’m just crabby today.

Got any suggestions for who could be the next Goblin King? Is there someone I just don’t know about?

11 Responses to “Oh, For Heaven’s SAKE…”

  1. patricksponaugle January 25, 2016 at 9:56 am #

    I survived the snow storm, and the idea of the Beebs in a Labyrinth reboot puts my problems in perspective. That would totally be the bigger catastrophe.

    • jennnanigans January 25, 2016 at 9:58 am #

      LOL. Well-said, sir!
      Glad you all made it through that mess all right! And that you got to be the SnowShovel Hero to the family! 😀

      • patricksponaugle January 25, 2016 at 9:59 am #

        My snow shovel is made of Valyrian Steel.
        Boom.

  2. lkeke35 January 25, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    I’m going to have to thoroughly chastise you for that Beiber reference. Any time of the day is too early in the morning for a woman to get hit with that! Whew!

    I wouldn’t mind seeing a bit of racebending of Jareth in Labyrinth. i would love to see him played by an Asian or Hispanic man. I’m pretty sure that we will end up with “Basic White Guy” though because Hollywood has no imagination when it comes to such things. it will.probably someone we like but are still really really tired of seeing everywhere. I love me some Tom Hiddleston, but he don’t have to be in everything (even though that sweetie is anything but Basic.)

    And what do you know, I may like the reboot, or just never watch it at all, thereby keeping my childhood firmly intact.

    • jennnanigans January 25, 2016 at 10:06 am #

      Lol, sorry! I have been sitting on that evil thought for a while and needed to Ring Video it into other people’s heads. Forgive me my transgression!

      ” i would love to see him played by an Asian or Hispanic man.”

      If I remember correctly, wasn’t Jareth’s look based on the look of 80s anime characters? It would be kind of serendipitous if an Asian pop star played him. I know nothing of that world so I couldn’t even try to suggest someone.
      Indeed, our childhoods will not be erased by a reboot of something we loved. 😀

  3. Haylee January 25, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    It’s a reboot? I thought it was a sequel – both of which are blasphemous, especially without Bowie. Why can’t new generations just be shown the original and love it for what it is, without it being vamped up to, presumably, the CGI max?

    I still play it at school on the rare occasions we get chance to have film days and they love it!

    That said, I have a weird fascination with Tilda and everything these days seems to be about role reversal, so that might be an interesting shout. I’d watch it for Hiddleston though – but only because I like his face. NOT because I think he could be a better Jareth!

    • jennnanigans January 25, 2016 at 11:44 am #

      Oh I don’t think it’s about making it ‘better’ or anything. The possible screenwriter says that people are incorrectly calling it a ‘reboot’ when apparently it’s something else.
      I do still love the original, and I don’t think anyone could remake it, but I wouldn’t be averse to another story set in the same universe. We shall see!

      • Haylee January 25, 2016 at 12:08 pm #

        Hmmm, revisiting the same universe I can handle!

  4. Vanessa Leavitt (@vrleavitt) January 26, 2016 at 9:44 am #

    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO to a reboot. NO. That said, but if they did, I like your idea of a gender swapped Jareth, and 100% love your two choices to fill the role. But still…NO. lol

    • jennnanigans January 26, 2016 at 9:50 am #

      Lol, noted! From the screenwriter’s explanation on Twitter it is sounding less like a reboot than a reimagining, or a revisit to the same world but with different characters. So we will see!

... but what do YOU think?

indiescifi451.wordpress.com/

îndependent science fiction movies, reviewed and dissected ruthlessly.

One Working Mommy

I am one person, one wife, one Mommy working through it all.

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

AfroSapiophile

Intelligent Black Thought.

Writing Is Hard Work

Musings of a hard working writer.

Janet Carr @

This Bug's Life

I create worlds. John E. Brito's Blog

Behind the scenes of John E. Brito's animated and live action (short) films & comics

Josep Goded

Seeking Truth

Stuff White People Like

This blog is devoted to stuff that white people like

Dark Matters

For Well-Rounded Blerds and POC Nerds

Examining the Odd

literature, visual art, music and film

My Year Cooking with Chris Kimball

Recipes from Cook's Illustated, Cook's Country and America's Test Kitchen

The Entertainment Patrol (and general musings)

My musings about everything from entertainment to life!

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Lovecraft eZine

Weird Fiction, Cosmic horror, and the Cthulhu Mythos

breaktimestories

Musings, Short stories, Inspiration.

BROTHA WOLF

Howling For Justice!

MyCreativeRamblings.org

“I used to want to be an astronaut, but astronauts don't even go to the moon anymore.”

BecomeBetty.com

Food, drinks, style, and humor

BaileyBee

The Hive

Carmilita's Handmade Jewelry

handmade bead jewelry

Mark My World

Hacking life while enjoying everything in between

Really Awful Movies

Horror Movies, Science Fiction, Exploitation, Action, Genre Films.

yaskhan

Poetry, free verse, haiku, senryu, photography, books, art, philosophy , nature.

TheWarner

Your Source for Honest Commentary and Reviews

Rob Powell Writes

Let's see where this goes, starting with some short stories and flash fiction.

Opinionated Woman

Opinionated women of the world, unite!

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

What's Your Chic?

Your Chic. Your Style.

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

Blog of the Dragon

Game of Thrones/Song of Ice and Fire news, theories, and other nerdy goodness

LOWLIFE MAGAZINE

"Find what you love and let it kill you." – Charles Bukowski

tekehdddddddddddddddddddddddddddd.wordpress.com/

About life, the universe and everything

Londongrad

Erotica City of London Russia Confessions

The Gymternet

The ultimate gymnastics news. For the ultimate gym nerd.

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

CHILANGOGEEK

Hobbies, Comics, Customs & Peliculas

